Weekly Jam! (5-21-07)

Gomez has always held a special place in my heart. I’ve traveled throughout a large part of the Eastern United States, catching shows and spending memorable weekends with my closest friends. When you’re that “in” to a band, their music begins to invade every facet of your life, scoring the good times and the bad… which can be a bit of a double-edged sword. It’s now nearly impossible for me to listen to any of their records without a rush of emotions, both good and bad, crashing down around my head.

I’m still getting acquainted with the new record, learning the ins and outs and forming memories with different songs. See The World is quite possibly the best Gomez track I’ve ever heard, and certainly their finest single to date, GirlShapedLoveDrug and All Too Much could have fit seamlessly on one of the older albums and the title track (co-opted by Gray’s Anatomy) is terribly interesting. So, with this Weekly Jam I’d like to share with you one of the tracks that you may have misssed…

Charley Patton Songs isn’t a single, it won’t be appearing on network television and at over five minutes in length you may not even make it through the entire thing yourself. I uncovered it this weekend, as I sat down to really give How We Operate a thorough listen, and it has become my 2nd favorite track on the record. I’m sure that it won’t be long before a memory, rather painful or blissful, is associated with it… but I guess that’s just how good music works.

Be sure to make it to the 2:14 mark, the beautiful chorus arrives complete with a reference to our very own bluegrass state!

Gomez – Charley Patton Songs

Leave a Reply

