Weekly Jam (6-11-07)

As far as modern bands go, there are a few that I hold in high regard. As most of you know, I’m prone to declare any band or song, at any given moment, “quite possibly the greatest song/band of all time.” Of course, most of these statements are pure hyperbole… as it is impossible for each of these bands/songs to be history’s greatest. In fact, if someone had been keeping track of my overzealous reviews, one would find an interesting top ten list (with 5-600 albums clocking in at #1 and an uninteresting gob of 2’s and 3’s).

Having said that, I’d like to point out that I’m quite sincere when I describe a few of these bands as being my favorites. As far as modern music goes, The Hold Steady, Arcade Fire, Gomez & The White Stripes will always rank among my favorite artists, and their music will always generate that kind of “Cory-Hype” that we’ve all grown to expect. So, it is with great pleasure that I hand the keys to this Weekly Jam over to Jack and Meg with the debut single from their upcoming release, Icky Thump.

Since this is a new release from The White Stripes (something that I consider to be a big deal), the Weekly Jam portion of cory-graham.com will be extended for a whopping FIVE DAYS! Since I’m all about sharing, I’ll be including a different track from Icky Thump each day this week, allowing those of you that haven’t yet obtained a copy to get a sneak-peek at what the new album has to offer. So, make sure to check back each day to hear more of what is undoubtedly the greatest album that I’ve ever listened to at 8:00 AM on June 11, 2007.

The White Stripes – Icky Thump

5 Responses to “Weekly Jam (6-11-07)”

  1. Brinton Says:

    I was afraid after the somewhat negative comments made about the creative potential of the Stripes after his stint with his new band, that Meg might be too pissed to go back to the studio with him. I look forward to hearing the rest of the album. I regard the White Stripes very highly. I place the White Stripes in a special class, pretty much by themselves, where the music is fun AND powerful, kinda like some of the tracks on The White Album by the Beatles, or to a lesser degree, certain Tom Petty tunes.

  2. Aaron Says:

    Much more importantly, I read today that Travelling Wiulburys Vol.1 and 3 are being rereleased tomorrow, with a couple of “new” songs, too.

  3. Kevin Says:

    The new logo is great, and this song rocks.

  4. chicka Says:

    this song is one of hte best damn songs i’ve ever heard, i cant get eniugh of it!! and jack is so hot…

  5. chicka Says:

    this song is one of the best damn songs i’ve ever heard, i cant get enough of it!! and jack is so hot…

Leave a Reply

