Regarding David Vitter

As I’m sure you’ve heard, Republican Congressman and mouthpiece for the religious right, David Vitter, was frequenting a few ladies of the night. I’ve been itching to say a few things about this, but I haven’t really come to terms with exactly how I feel about the issue. See, here’s the thing… unlike most politicians, pundits and mouthy bloggers, I actually try my best to mean what I say. I didn’t care that Bill Clinton slept with an intern and honestly I couldn’t care less whether or not David Vitter spent every single dime of his salary being tied up and bathed in olive oil on the floor of his office. If you do your job, to my liking, then you have my support.

The thing is… David Vitter never had my support.

It would be extremely easy to take the low, easy road and start pointing out various comments that Vitter made regarding Clinton’s sex life, but what’s the point? As I said when Clinton endured Lewinskigate, if your Congressional Representative isn’t caught sleeping around then it’s: A) Because he or she is incredibly good at hiding it, B) Because you have elected someone of the .001% of Representatives that haven’t done it or C) You’ve elected someone so old that even the various “ED” remedies just can’t get the job done.

No, instead of tarring and feathering David Vitter for something that has absolutely nothing whatsoever to do with his performance as a Congressman, I’d like to say something else. I have Republican friends, I have Christian friends… dare to say, I even have friends that proudly wear their allegiance to the Religious Right like a badge. To these people, I offer my condolences. Surely by now you’re tired of being repeatedly taken for a ride by these phonies. Just recently, from Mark Foley to Ted Haggard to David Vitter, some of the most outspoken “Christians” on the right have turned out to be outright frauds… and those are just the ones that we’ve caught in the act.

All too often the Republican Party plays to people’s passions. They yell and scream over abortion, gay marriage and any other issue that happens to be the flavor of the month in the 700 Club community, all the while robbing pocketbooks of the middle and lower middle class. I’m not saying that there aren’t some of these guys actually walking the walk, but if you can’t go a week without hearing of one of these bastions of morality getting caught doing the exact opposite of what they’ve promised you as a voter, then something is clearly wrong.

Note: I’m aware that Ted Haggard isn’t an elected official, but I’m pretty sure that he’s not stumping for Ralph Nader on the weekends.

My point is this: don’t believe the lines that they eagerly feed you. If someone makes a mistake, they are entitled to forgiveness, I believe that very sincerely. However, as a voter you can’t attack one side for what they’ve done while simultaneously excusing your own. These guys are lining their pockets by playing to your most deeply held religious beliefs, and I find it thoroughly disgusting. There is a welcome place in American Politics for Conservative, Christian Republicans (for example, Arkansas’ exemplary former Governor, Mike Huckabee)… that’s how a Democracy works. I just ask you to be careful, because when you send someone to Washington based on “values,” you’ve made a mistake nearly 100% of the time. Trust me, on both sides of the aisle, “values” are usually the last thing on anyone’s mind.

Leave a Reply

